Until then the company said that they will “do a lot more to clear up the misinformation around how privacy and security works on WhatsApp”. The most worrying concern for users of the app was that their information would be shared with Facebook although WhatsApp say that the new policy will not “expand our ability to share data with Facebook”, and that it is instead focused on its new business updates, which allow companies to host their shops on Facebook and communicate with users through WhatsApp.
In a post that revealed the delay the company said “We’ve heard from so many people how much confusion there is around our recent update. There’s been a lot of misinformation causing concern and we want to help everyone understand our principles and the facts. WhatsApp was built on a simple idea: what you share with your friends and family stays between you. This means we will always protect your personal conversations with end-to-end encryption, so that neither WhatsApp nor Facebook can see these private messages.
It’s why we don’t keep logs of who everyone’s messaging or calling. We also can’t see your shared location and we don’t share your contacts with Facebook
Share on your Social Networks